30 day blogging challenge day 26: Weird things I do when I’m alone.

LOOK.jpg

Luke 8:17 For there is nothing hidden that will not be disclosed, and nothing concealed that will not be known or brought out into the open.

I am very rarely alone as my wife and I literally do everything together and I mean EVERYTHING together. Privacy became a thing of the past the day she moved in with me.

With that being said, there isn’t much that I do alone but here is a list of a couple of things that I tend to do when I have a second to myself.

1.) Talk to 1331282197216245myself

Everyone says your crazy for doing this, but I think that your crazy if you don’t. I talk to myself everyday it helps me to think straight and actually process my thoughts clearly. What I usually say is muffled though, not like in a loud clear voice. That would be awkward hahaha!

 

2.) Acting out scenarios in the mirrohow-to-stop-stuttering-stand-in-front-of-the-mirror-to-practise-talkingr

Okay this one I will admit is a bit weird and I tend to stop suddenly when my wife comes in hahaha. Sometimes I plan what I say to people in case I get into a biblical debate, or happen to bump into someone I know. I never feel like its weird until my wife busts in and says,  “uuuhhh what were you doing???”

3.) Flex in the mirror and thinba5dd52b8dc73ef4f79447862db304c4k about what I wish I could improve on

A few years ago a friend of mine and I started a fitness group together. We would go to the local park and do a variety of different exercises and wound recruiting a few of our friends to come along. We were super avid about this and would go to the park five days a week and take two rest days. at the end of our first summer working out I had gained 17 lbs of muscle and was proud of my progress. The following summer we were back at it again, when one Friday I went for a routine check up. I had never been so excited to take my shirt off in public lol. My doc did all the necessary testing and drew some blood and told me he would tell me the results in a couple of days. The weekend passed and I got a call early Monday morning my doctor told me to come in as soon as possible. I went to his office he sat me down and asked me what my physical  activity was like. When I told him I poked my chest out proudly and said, “Well doc I play quite a few sports and intensely work out five days a week!” He replied asking, “Do you do weight training as well?” “Why yes. Yes I do!” says me with a huge grin thinking he was going to congratulate me or something lol. Then my doctor hits me with, “Well I have good news and bad news, which one do you want first?” As my countenance went from happy to worried I replied, “I’ll take the bad news first.” My doctor proceeded to tell me that I had a low muscle and blood enzyme count and that my intense work outs actually had an inverse affect on my health. The harder I worked the harder the enzymes I did have would have to work, which could cause them to burst releasing a substance into my blood stream that could negatively affect my liver, resulting in death. Silence overwhelmed the room as I stood there with my mouth open and a puzzled look on my face. “No more working out for you okay, stop the weight training and intense work outs immediately” My doctor emphatically states, I reply with, “Okay doc no problem, for how long?” “For good, no more for the rest of your life, what ever calisthenics you do, do them in moderation, if you push yourself you’ve gone too far.” A broken, befuddled, flabbergasted look fell upon my face as I was completely in awe about what I just heard. He patted me on the back and told me to relax and that everything was fine because they caught it just in time before any damage was done. This was the good news, but it sure didn’t make me feel very good. Coincidentally, I ran into my buddy that I started the fitness group with on my way home from my appointment. With great zeal on his face he asked me what time we were heading out today to work out. I told him the news but played it off as though I was fine. I walked away because I felt my eyes watering up and didn’t want him to see me cry. So today the weird thing I do is look in the mirror and think about what I could be if only I could work out again.

1 Peter 5:6 Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you.”

Although sometimes I get down about this because I don’t enjoy not being a big strong man lol, I see the blessing in it all. Truth be told I needed to be humbled, I had an unhealthy confidence level because I admired my work ethic and results a little too much. I was a praying and bible reading man, but nothing really came before my work outs and I’m sure you can tell by my conversation and demeanor with my doctor that I was on a bit of a high horse haha.

Since that day I learned to seek confidence in who I am from God instead of an outward appearance.  Jeremiah 17:7, “But blessed is the one who trusts in the LORD, whose confidence is in him.” I learned that it is more attractive to be a skinny humble man than an arrogant buff dude. I learned that God does not measure strength by the amount of weight a man can lift, but by the amount of patience a man exhibits for God in the midst of a storm. I learned that strength has nothing to do with muscles but everything to do with faith. The old me wanted me to be as big as Goliath but God wanted me to be David.

Thank you God for humbling my heart, for bringing me to a point of brokenness so that I can look at the pieces of me and realize they don’t belong there in the first place. For helping me to reassemble myself better than I was before. Thank you for transforming me and renewing my mind, that I will be able to discern between your good and perfect will instead of conforming to the ideals of this world. Thank you God, thank you! In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

If there are any insecurities you may have, seek God about them. All of our troubles and worries are there to bring us closer to God. Talk to Him about it and seek confidence in the Lord.

Do you have any weird things that you do when your alone? Leave a comment below fill me in on the details lol.

Keep on frogging it Fam! (Fully Rely On God) rrribbit

 

5 thoughts on “30 day blogging challenge day 26: Weird things I do when I’m alone.

  1. Julian, Praise the Lord they discovered your health issue before it did damage. The Bible says physical exercise profits “a little”but but godliness is profitable for all things. Yes, I also kind of mumble to myself as I get ready in the morning…just my way of preparing of the day. I like to read A LOT. I have since I was a kid but I don’t care for TV. My wife is the opposite; she doesn’t like to read but loves scary or sci-fi movies. So I’m usually in another room reading while she’s watching TV. I’m currently reading a novel based on the Book of Ruth, one of my favorite books of the Bible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely brother I thank God everyday that all was well. This was a lesson that I needed to learn and I am better for it. lol I can not imagine a person that doesn’t talk to themselves lol it is just weird hahaha. I see you’ve posted about Ruth I will be heading over to read that now, I am hoping to see some notes from the novel you were reading as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! That must have been a scary experience! It’s a good thing that God caught you before you went too far!

    As a teenage girl (well, sort-of still a teenager…) I’ve seen friends struggle with insecurity about appearance, and fall into an eating disorder or a bad relationship because of it. I think the important thing to remember is that God created us “fearfully and wonderfully made” and that our heart is more important than our appearance.

    Keep frogging it JuJu!🐸

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

