30 day blog challenge. day 4 My middle name

Today’s post is supposed to be about my middle name and how I feel about it.

My full name is Julian Philip Chambers, for as long as I can remember I’ve always liked my middle name in fact as a child I was partial toward it. I would ask friends and other people I knew to refer to me as Philip or Phil. Hahaha fun fact, The partiality was due to my favorite cartoon character as a child being Philip from the rugrats.

philip

Yep the insect eating baby with the duckey overalls. Why I liked this character is a mystery unbeknownst to me.

But in trying to find a link to the bible for my middle name I found that there are 4 characters in the bible named Philip. Two of them were the sons of king Herod and two were servants of Christ. Naturally I resonate more with the Servants of Christ so those two will be the focal point.

One of those two servants was actually one of the twelve disciples. This Philip is believed to have been martyred in Phrygia by way of torture and crucifixion. The apostle Philip is also the one who asked Jesus after the last supper to show himself and the rest of the Disciples the father. Jesus’ response to Philips request was, “…Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Show us the Father?” (John 14:9) I’ve been told by Muslims and Atheists that Jesus never claimed to be God but this quote is nothing less than Him assertively making that very claim.

Got eem

The Other Philip is known as Philip the evangelist or Philip the deacon in order to differentiate between him and the apostle Philip. This Philip had a Passion for evangelism and was led a lot by the spirit of God to bring the Gospel to a number of people in various places.

So how do I feel about my middle name? Simply put I love it!!!

4 thoughts on “30 day blog challenge. day 4 My middle name

  1. Oh my goodness, I remember that show! I used to love it as a child! My personal favorite was actually Lil! That’s really cool that you have two characters in the Bible who share your name. I still have yet to find a Courtney in the Bible, lol! 😄 Great post and good luck on the challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol haha Im sure there are no Julian’s in the bible so we are pretty even on the first names and my middle name is such a common old name that it was bound to be in the bible hahaha. Its so funny that your favorite character was Lil and mine was Phil that makes us brother and sister in Christ and in Rugrats hahahaha. thanks for keeping up with the challenge 26 days left for me and 25 for you!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

