Being a christian makes you feel low

Following the will of God is one of the most degrading, demeaning, inglorious experiences Christians go through. I try so hard just to make sure I listen carefully to him and stray away from making moves that don’t line up with scripture, but it seems like no matter how hard I try to do the right thing people find a way to make me feel like I’m doing something wrong. For a while I attributed this to me just not knowing the voice of God and me just living my life based off of a flawed understanding that I had of the bible. In the process of following the will of God I’ve lost my brothers, my father, my sisters and a couple of other family members because they don’t agree with the choices I’ve made. I’ve said to myself a thousand times, “These are supposed be the people closest to me and they all claim to love God so why don’t they understand me and why I am going in this direction.” When things started to heat up and my issues seemed to be at the climax and I was beginning to say Lord I can’t take this anymore, I was lead to read Matthew and in reading Matthew I come across this verse, “He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me”(Matthew 10:37).

God calls us to love Him more than our families. I knew this verse existed in the bible for a long time but never quite understood what the purpose behind the verse was until now. We live in an age where people will say they love God and attend church every Sunday, but during the week live un-apologetically sinful lives. It became evident to me that many people will say they know, love and follow God and even go as far as giving advise to others about God, but they themselves aren’t in tune with God. I realized that God stated this because He knew ahead of time that our families would be the ones to turn us away from Him and distort out understanding of who He is and how He works in our lives. He calls us to hate our families in comparison to him, “If anyone comes to me and does not hate father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters–yes, even their own life–such a person cannot be my disciple” (Luke 14:26). This is because if you find yourself loving your family more than you love the Lord you will be led astray by their biased, worldly, misguided perception of God. Whenever you believe God is speaking to you test the spirits, align what you are being told with scripture, pray without ceasing, and consult with a pastor. Never just assume that just because your family “loves” you and “cares” about you they are will give you good advise. Trust in God and God alone. But if you do have a family that is truly devoted to God and not just people who use God as an insurance plan,stay close to them and urge them to stay in the word because this world is becoming increasingly deceptive and wicked. Lastly don’t don’t let anyone make you feel ashamed of the road that God sets you on. Walk with the Lord with confidence knowing that God is planning every step you take!

5 thoughts on “Being a christian makes you feel low

    1. You couldn’t be more true! Follow his will and though the world will make you feel dark and unloving. God makes you feel complete full of light and loved!

      Like

Leave a Reply

